Simon Galton

Liberal Democrat County & District Councillor Learn more

by simongalton on 9 January, 2009

 Liberal Democrat Leader Nick Clegg today announced his team for the next General Election.

He said: “I am proud to lead the best front-bench team in British politics, a team which has consistently been ahead of the curve on the big debates that matter to the British people. “This team leaves the Liberal Democrats well placed to take the fight to both Labour and the Conservatives in the run-up to the General Election and to bring about the change that Britain needs.” The new roles are:

  • Simon Hughes Shadow Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change

  • Steve Webb Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions

  • David Heath Shadow Leader of the House

  • Jenny Willott Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

  • David Howarth Shadow Secretary of State for Justice

  • Susan Kramer has chosen to leave the shadow cabinet to take up a new role leading the party’s campaign against the expansion of Heathrow Airport.

  • Nick Clegg is also creating an economic recovery group to co-ordinate the party’s ongoing response to the recession

  • Nick Clegg has asked Lynne Featherstone to oversee the party’s online campaigning as Chair of the New Technology Board.

  • John Sharkey, the Leader’s adviser on strategic communications, is appointed Deputy Chair of the General Election campaign. He will work closely with Lord Rennard, Chair of the General Election campaign, and Chris Fox, the party’s new Director of Policy and Communications. 

  • Lord Wallace of Tankerness, former Deputy First Minister of Scotland, has been appointed to advise on the party’s engagement with senior civil servants

   Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>